Over a cup

Because you are the sweet latte type
and I the intense caffeinated sort,
Because you scribble poetry on immaculate sheets
and I exude bromide on cigarette rolls,
Because my nature spells fickle
and yours unwavering,
Because your manner is too damn sensitive
and mine too fu*king phlegmatic,
Because the sordid boots always taint the floral pillows
 and my petty reality can’t sustain your idealistic delicacy,
                       Because your contagious mirth threatens my nonchalance                        and my baneful stench lingers over your sheer trust in me,
Because I simply lack the power
to patiently unreel your protective layers
or the nerve
to reveal my wretched nucleus…
I can’t, won’t, don’t afford to fall over you…
but will make sure you collapse over me
casually: over a cup.

The photo’s source

Leave a Reply

