Top 7 brilliant amorous songs

     

         This last month of ~another~ winter has found me lame & lamentable in…throbbingly gravitating around lax hints & yearnings of enduring love story. Indicated by ambiguous or concrete signs, unconfessed & bursting with urgency, effusive & consuming…medley of charming variants really. Obviously ~to me~ this pathetic inclination means that I must re-read Süskind’s book “On Love and Death” to cool the naif self of poetic romanticism ~so, of irrealism. It also means that I have squandered time and energy listening, rather obsessively, to various amorous songs. Hence, the casual idea of compiling this top.

         It is remarkable that somehow my attraction towards drama has surrendered lately to a buoyant, more than skeptical, mood regarding this cumbersome theme of existence…consequently, no excruciating & seriously gloomy melody included. I reckon, is either the decisive deadline of awaiting on some-thing/being set for this season, or the euphoria tingling my pores with shivers…of anticipated blossom, unfolding warmth, daylight and feminine celebration: *spring*. Maybe both or more, never mind. So, here are, accompanied by their most gripping lines, 7 most wondrous infatuation tunes I’ve ever heard. 

 

‘Cause I don’t wanna fall in love
If you don’t wanna try,…

Just say you love me, just for today
And don’t give me time ’cause that’s not the same
Want to feel burning flames when you say my name
Want to feel passion flow into my bones
Like blood through my veins…

Slowly slowly you unfold me,
But do you know me…?

 

Let’s get old together
Let’s be unhappy forever
Cause there’s no one else in this world
That I’d rather be unhappy with
Let’s be exposed and unprotected
Let’s see one another when we’re weak
Let’s go our separate ways in the night
Like two moths
But know that you’re flying home to me.

 

  • The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face, Johnny Cash (Written by Ewan MacColl)

The first time ever I kissed your mouth
I felt the earth move in my hand
Like the trembling heart of a captive bird
That was there at my command…

And the first time ever I lay with you
I felt your heart so close to mine
And I knew our joy would fill the earth
And last ’till the end of time

 

Strangers in the night exchanging glances
Wondering in the night what were the chances…

Something in your eyes was so inviting
Something in your smile was so exciting
Something in my heart told me I must have you…

Ever since that night we’ve been together
Lovers at first sight, in love forever
It turned out so right for strangers in the night

 

  • The Love I’m Frightened Of, Katie Melua, (Written by Luke Batt)

So sincere
But the message is still a struggle
Knives with which we juggle
While we jump through fire

So maybe I’ll move on and make a mistake
And see if my earth-quakes

This is the love I’m frightened of
Doesn’t come with a leaflet that says how to keep it…

 

  • I Know You, Skylar Grey (Written by Skylar Grey and Stephan Moccio)

I believe, I believe there’s love in you
Grid locked on the dusty avenues
Inside your heart, just afraid to go…

Don’t complicate it,
Don’t let the past dictate
Yeah,
I have been patient, but slowly I’m losing faith…

I know it’s you that I belong to
I’m burning like a cannonball in the air
Crashing into who I belong to

 

  • Blue Jeans, Lana del Rey (Written by Lana Del Rey, Haynie, and Dan Heath)

You were sorta punk rock, I grew up on hip hop
But you fit me better than my favourite sweater, and I know
That love is mean, and love hurts…

I will love you ’til the end of time
I would wait a million years
Promise you’ll remember that you’re mine
Baby can you see through the tears
Love you more
Than those bitches before
Say you’ll remember, oh baby, say you’ll remember

The photo’s source

Leave a Reply

